Looking ahead to Key Stage 4 is very exciting and here at Flixton Girls we aim to support our students and their parents as much as we can through the process. From September 2020 the process begins in year 9 with commencement of the GCSE courses from year 10 and into year 11.

Careers advice and guidance is delivered using a variety of different approaches from year 7 to year 13, in order to look into possible career paths and qualifications needed. Further information can be obtained from our careers pages HERE.

Typical Option Courses
Ebacc GCSEs
• Computer Science
• French
• Geography
• German
• History

Non-core GCSEs
• Art and Design (Fine Art)
• Art and Design (Photography)
• Art & Design (Textiles)
• Business Studies
• Dance
• Design Technology
• Drama
• Food Preparation and Nutrition
• Media Studies
• Music
• Performing Arts
• Physical Education
• Psychology
• Sociology

Technical Awards2
• Pearson BTEC Level 1/2 First Award in Health and Social Care

Other Qualifications
• Cambridge National Sports Science (Level 1/2)

1 The English Baccalaureate (EBacc) is a school performance measure. It allows people to see how many students get a grade 4 or 5 or above in the core academic subjects at Key Stage 4.
In June 2015, the Secretary of State for Education announced the government's intention that all students who start year 7 in September 2015 take the EBacc subjects when they reach their GCSEs in 2020. The Ebacc is made up of English, Maths, History or Geography, the sciences (including Computer Science) and a language.

2 Technical Awards are high quality vocational qualifications that equip students with applied knowledge and associated practical skills not usually acquired through general education.